The next “6 Week” challenge

The never-ending quest to lose those pesky five pounds continues.  This time, it’s not really a six-week challenge as much as it is a six-month challenge.  A coworker has asked if I would join him in this years Tough Mudder – a 10-mile off-road obstacle course.

Running has never been my strong suit, so it’s going to take some time to get into shape (if I do take him up on his offer).  I went ahead and bought a pair of new running shoes with help from a running professional, so my flat feet should be able to handle all the impact.  Now I’m in the process of breaking the shoes in.

The Tough Mudder website says the race is about 10 miles and should take approximately 2.5 hours to complete.  In order to start practicing for the running aspect, I’ve mapped out a route in my neighborhood to begin practicing.  The first lap is 2.2 miles, and each additional lap is 1.75 miles.  My plan for getting up to par with the running is to do the following:

Week 1 – Walk the first lap (2.2 miles).
Week 2 – Jog the first lap (2.2 miles).
Week 3 – Jog the first lap, walk the second (3.95 miles).
Week 4 – Jog the first two laps (3.95 miles).
Week 5 – Jog the first two laps, walk the third (5.7 miles).
Week 6 – Jog the first three laps (5.7 miles).
Week 7 – Jog the first three laps, walk the fourth (7.45 miles).
Week 8 – Jog the first four laps (7.45 miles).
Week 9 – Jog the first four laps, walk the fifth (9.2 miles).
Week 10 – Jog the first five laps (9.2 miles).

From that point on, I will be mixing in strength exercises with the running.  Since the event will require carrying logs, climbing walls, and negotiating monkey bars, I’ll be working on pull-ups and probably push-ups.  Hopefully that will be enough to get me up to speed with my coworker.

As with all the prior six-week challenges, I’ll be keeping track of my weight and measurements at four key points: chest, stomach, waist, and glutes.  A chart and graph will be updated periodically so we can see where improvements are being made.  Maybe I’ll finally shed those five pounds once and for all!

Leave a Reply

