Getting ready for a new 6-Week Challenge

As this “heat wave” melts all the snow in my yard, and with Spring just around the corner, it is time for another 6-week challenge.  The quest to lose those pesky five pounds continues, and maybe the fourth time is the charm.  To recap, the first six-weeks was standard exercising (sit-ups, push-ups, etc), the second six-weeks was using the Wii Fit, and the third six-weeks was using my Concept II rowing machine.  This time we’re going to try something different.

I recently purchased the Microsoft Kinect for the X-Box 360.  For those of you who are not familiar with the device, it is a camera that attaches to the gaming console that follows your movements and computes them into actions in the video game.  There is no need for a controller, and you cannot play the games from a seated position.  So here is my plan for the next six weeks:  30 minutes of “playing” with the Kinect and 30 minutes of rowing (Monday through Friday).  This should allow for muscle confusion and burn off those five pounds one and for all!

To add to this, with Spring on the way, my weekends will likely be spent outdoors trying to get the rest of the yard to grow once again.  I had good results at the end of the fall, so hopefully I can continue the success with the rest of the yard.  PLUS, the yard work will help with tackling the five pounds.  Also, you might find this interesting. In doing some research on metabolism, I discovered that Vitamin D (specifically, Vitamin D3) is generated by being exposed to UV radiation, such as sunlight.  Vitamin D boosts your metabolism, so while not only working in the yard and exercising will help me lose weight, the Vitamin D generated by the sunlight will help as well.

I think I will start the exercise challenge next week, as I am currently having to build a puppet stage for church.  Once that’s done, I will have some free time after work.

Leave a Reply

