It’s SUPER BOWL Time!

Are you ready for some football!?!?!

The game is all set, featuring two old-school teams facing off to become the NFL Champion of the 2010-2011 season.  Since my boys in blue will be watching this game from the comfort of their own homes tonight, I don’t have any particular favorite in tonight’s game.  Both teams have some great strengths and both are equally capable of walking away with a win.  My projection is … well, let’s wait a moment.

First, let’s reflect on my New York Giants.  They could have been in tonight’s game if they didn’t lose in that freaky game against the Philadelphia Eagles two months ago.  However, it was because of their softer playing style this year that kept them from making the playoffs.  If they had the focus that they had at the end of the 2007-2008 season, things could have been a lot different.  Hopefully next season they will get their act together and make another strong run to the playoffs (that is … if there will even be a season next year).

Ok, back to those other two teams.  The Green Bay Packers have three Super Bowl wins, compared to the Pittsburgh Steelers six wins.  If the Packers win, they will move into fourth place of teams with the most Super Bowl wins.  Pittsburgh is trying to extend their legacy with seven wins, placing them two wins ahead of the Dallas Cowboys and the San Francisco 49ers (both teams have five wins).  In watching both teams compete this year, and having many of the Packers stars on my fantasy football team this year, I would have to say the Packers play the more-complete game tonight and win by the score of 27 to 21.

With that out of the way, let’s go back to the Giants.  BIG BLUE!  You will always be champions in my book.  As you can tell from my little make-shift shrine, I love my team.  Ever since 1985, I’ve been a die hard fan.  I cheer for the Buffalo Bills (the only team to go to four consecutive Super Bowls), New York Jets (once coached by Bill Parcells), and New England Patriots (also once coaches by the Tuna), but against the Giants, they pale in comparison.

So while I’m watching the Packers beat the Steelers tonight, I will be surrounded by the best team in the world.  Representing will be my Super Bowl XLII throw blanket, my NY Giants snuggie, my Michael Strahan jersey, autographed photos of Eli Manning and Phil Simms, a copy of the road to Super Bowl XLII, and my mini NY Giants helmet (though I need a mini football helmet display case to keep it in).  Here’s hoping for an awesome game tonight with no injuries and big plays!

Leave a Reply

