EVE Online

Last week, I went out of town on vacation to kick back and try to forget about work for a while.  As usual, I took with me my computer and a stack of computer games that I haven’t had a chance to play in a while.  While flipping through my game collection, I stumbled across my copy of EVE Online.

EVE Online is a multi-player online game that takes place very far in the future.  In your classic rags-to-riches story, you start off with the basics: a few dollars and a tiny little space ship.  As you progress in the game, you improve your skills (real-time based), improve your space ship, and improve your bank account.  You can earn money through selling raw minerals that you mine from asteroid belts, from supplies you steal from competitors, or (if you join a corporation) from selling new space ships to those that can afford them.

One of my favorite aspects of the game is what you do before the game begins.  After creating your username, you get to create your avatar.  In the most advanced platform that I have ever seen, you can create your character to look anyway you like.  You can even control the position of the lighting on your character and the background to give your avatar additional personality.  The graphics quality continues outside of the avatar development stage.  As you travel to different worlds, you will be impressed by the fine-art quality of the environments you find your ship traveling through.  Planets look like they pop right out of your screen, while galaxies glow with their radiant beauty.

When I last played, I teamed up with a few of my coworkers to start our own corporation.  When we weren’t searching for rare raw materials to build our advanced space ships, we were engaging in coordinated attacks on other corporations and syndicates that were trying to infiltrate our territories.  And since the game is ever-changing with new players, the game continues without end.

Loading the game back on my computer, I discovered that they are offering a 14-day free trial for new users.  If you love space, strategy, and/or economic games, I highly recommend you give the game a try.  Once you’re in, do a search for MODU when you move from galaxy to galaxy.  You just might find me taking on some pirates … and I can definitely use your help.

Leave a Reply

