Printer problems, spoolers, golf clubs, and HP Q6470A?

I don’t know about you, but every now and then I come across an object that I just cannot conquer.  One of those items are computer printers.  For some reason, they are my most difficult computer peripheral in my opinion.  If it isn’t that the toner or ink is no longer available in stores, it is the drivers not being compatible with my latest operating system version.  And if the drivers are working properly, there is some sort of hic-up within the operating system causing print jobs to be stuck in the print queue (and good luck trying to clear those out of the system).

My recent issue is the print spooler acting up.  For some reason yesterday, the spooler (or whatever application that is associated with it) has failed to work properly.  I’ve reinstalled the existing driver and downloaded and installed the most recent driver.  The only thing I haven’t tried is taking the wooden driver out of my golf bag and threaten my computer with it.  There isn’t much saved on the computer, so if I need to slick the harddrive and start over from scratch, it shouldn’t be too difficult.

Fortunately that is cheaper than going out to buy ink and toner.  I’ve never understood why that stuff costs so much.  And in many cases, it seems that the stores don’t carry my ink or toner any more.  (Why make a quality printer if you are no longer going to supply the ink or toner for it?)  Thank goodness for the internet.  There are many online stores that offer hard-to-find ink and toner.  As an example, the website 6inks.com carries the HP Q6470A toner on their website.  Exploring the websites for Best Buy and Staples, I cannot find the toner being listed anywhere.  If I had purchased the printer model that takes that toner, I would be left with an expensive paperweight if online stores didn’t still offer the harder-to-find inks and toners.

Hopefully my printer has sensed this article and is currently fearing the idea of me breaking out my golf clubs.  For two days it has tormented me, and I think it’s time for me to turn the tables.  Anyone else out there have these kind of issues?

Leave a Reply

