Is this a fortune or an insult?

Last week, myself and a group of my coworkers went to the local Chinese restaurant during our lunch break.  As tradition, we received our fortune cookie when we were finished with our meals.  I always get a kick out of these “fortunes,” but the one I received made me question: is this a fortune or an insult?  After cracking open the cookie, I read the following:

You should be able to make money and hold on to it.

Huh?  Did this fortune cookie just call me fiscally irresponsible?  Looking back at the slip of paper, I reread the fortune in the following context:

What’s wrong with you?  You should be able to make money and hold on to it.

Yep – it sounds like an insult to me.  One of my coworkers took the fortune and read it for himself.  He placed it in the following context:

Good news!  You should be able to make money and hold on to it.

When you phrase it that way, it sounds like whatever money that is coming to me, I will not have to apply it to some sort of debt or other expense.  Still, the question lingers.

What do you think?  Is this a fortune or an insult?

Leave a Reply

