Inconsistencies

I’m not sure if you have these in your life, but recently I’ve noticed that I am inconsistent with my “good deeds.”  For example, two weekends ago, I was driving down the road and noticed someone who was trying to push their car while in the right-hand lane of the main road near my house.  I promptly pulled my car off the side of the road and help the owner push the vehicle (and was later assisted by two younger guys who stopped as well).  The four of us pushed the car less than a quarter mile uphill and into the development where the owner was met by one of his family members.  A little hard work, but an easy “good deed” for the day.

Two days later, on my way home from work, there was a car that broke down in front of me in the left-hand turn lane.  While this section of the street was relatively level, and there was a large shoulder on the opposite side of the road to where the person could park their car and not be in the way of traffic, I didn’t bother to exit the car and help.  In fact, I grumbled and pulled my car out from behind theirs and continued on my way. Why didn’t I stop to help?  It would have been far easier of a push.

Skip ahead a week.  I’m in the office when one of my coworkers calls me if I can help change the tire on their car.  No problem.  Went down to the parking garage, changed the tire in 10 minutes, and went back to work.  Yes, my hands were dirty and I broke out in a sweat, but it wasn’t anything that didn’t clean up easily enough.  So how come today, while walking to lunch, I passed by a person on the side of the street with a flat tire and didn’t offer to help?

Now I know that I can’t help everyone all the time, but shouldn’t I be more willing to stop and help others?  Maybe it is something about our society these days.  As I mentioned in the first example … two young guys stopped to help push the car with me and the owner.  I was very proud of them for lending a hand because it has become the exception to the rule.  It’s too easy to say “Oh, they probably have AAA” or something along those lines instead of stopping to lend a hand.

Also referencing the first example, the car owner and the family member were surprised by the level of help they received.  I’m sure they might have questioned “Why are they helping us” at one point.  It reminds me of one time years ago when I helped a young lady push her car out of the intersection.  She was so nervous because she was stranded, but I think she was also nervous because a strange man stopped to help.  I offered to stay with her until her father arrived, but fortunately a cop showed up shortly there after to assist.

Whatever the reason might be, I hope that I can be a better helper in the future.  Maybe my actions will encourage others to help out more often as well.  If it becomes a common practice within our communities, maybe I won’t feel so hesitant in the future.

Leave a Reply

