Earth Day 2010

There is a poll question CNN.com asking: “Are you doing anything to mark Earth Day?” My answer is … no. Sorry, but I don’t need an artificial holiday to go out and do something in honor of the planet. Besides, it’s Thursday. By the time I get home from work, it will be too late to go outside to do anything (plus I’m tired and have my exercise challenge to address).

No, to me, Earth Day is an artificial holiday for people who don’t think about the planet the other 364 days out of the year or for environmentalists who need a “Christmas” of their own. For me, everyday is my Earth Day. As you know with my on-going landscaping project, I’m busy taking care of my lawn and plants. This has taken up more time that I would like on the weekends, but at least it is preserving the soil while cleaning the air. During the week days, I carpool with two others to save on gas as well as wear-and-tear on my car.

Forty years ago, when Earth Day was first established, I could see the purpose of the artificial holiday. The industrial side of our society had really left a scar on the land, in the air, as well as the water. We have come a long way. With a natural cultural shift to bring people in line with views held by groups such as the Boy Scouts, we are doing a much better job of living in harmony with our environment. There is still a lot of work to do, but I think we’re on the right track.

Leave a Reply

