Adventures in Landscaping (part 1)

In the Spring, my yard was looking a little rough.  There is one patch of my yard that doesn’t want to grow grass any more.  This is strange, since the best grass use to be in this area for the first 10 years that I’ve lived here.  Wanting an instant remedy, I hired a landscaping company to come out and lay some sod (as seen below):

As you can see, the new sod looked great! I kept it watered and maintained it as instructed, but just a few months later, the grass thinned and some areas were already bare. I don’t want to invest in new sod (at least not twice in the same year), so I have decided to do an experiment by buying two different grass seed products to see how they compared against each other, both in short-term and long-term growth. I will post which products I choose and monitor their performance.

Leave a Reply

