Rain, rain (don’t) go away

This has been a very wet Spring for me so far.  It seems that it has rained (if not poured) every-other day so far, and I am not complaining one bit.  Why?  SOD! 

That’s right, I’m talking about my yard.  For years I have been trying to revitalize a section of my yard where the grass has disappeared.  I finally caved in a few weeks ago and had sod laid in the hopes to once again see green where I was seeing brown.

The most important responsibility for handling new sod is keeping it watered.  By watering the sod for a month, you are encouraging the roots to grow and develop, locking the new grass to the existing lawn.  With all of this rain, I have only had to turn on the sprinklers three times so far.

The irony of this all is that it was the rain that caused the grass to disappear in the first place.  Due to the way the yard is sloped and the position of the tall trees next to the lawn, this section would remain overly-saturated and shady.  In the efforts to resolve this, I am installing a new “drain pit” near the downspout that is causing half of the problem. 

So, for now, rain, rain (don’t) go away.  Keep on coming and make my grass grow!!!

Leave a Reply

