Exercise methodology

There are so many different exercises out there that I can choose from, targeting anywhere from my neck down to my ankles. Since my arms and my legs are in good shape and toned, I want to focus more on the trunk and waist areas. The goal is to lose five pounds, and these two sections are where men tend to carry more non-muscle weight.

Exercises that increase flexibility and tones multiple muscle groups are what I am looking for, especially if they are low-impact. Doing some research, I have identified ten exercises that I believe meet my needs. They are:

    Basic crunch – exercises the rectus abdominis
    Bicycle crunch – exercises the rectus abdominis
    Chair squat – exercises the hamstrings and gluteus maximus
    Crossover crunch – exercises the rectus abdominis, external obliques, and internal obliques
    Forward lunge – exercises the gluteus medius, gluteus maximus, and the hamstrings
    Long arm crunch – exercises the rectus abdominis, external obliques, and internal obliques
    Pile squat – exercises the hamstrings and gluteus medius
    Reverse crunch – exercises the rectus abdominis
    Seated oblique twist – exercises the rectus abdominis, external obliques, and internal obliques
    Standing side bends – exercises the quadratus lumborum muscle

I will create a daily schedule identifying which exercises I will be performing per day, making sure to change the sequence to ensure that each muscle group is targeted. Muscle burns fat, so targeting these muscle groups will help achieve my goal. However, as I am burning away the fat, the muscles are increasing in density, possibly leading to my weight remaining the same (even if my clothes fit better).

This is why I will be recording my weight each week as well as measuring three points of my body. The first point will be around the stomach in line with the belly button. The second point will be around the waist. The last point will be at the top of the adductor longus (groin) muscle. Measuring in these three points should identify where the weight loss is occurring. Since this is only a six week challenge, the changes might be only a quarter or half inch, so I will measure each point three times and take the average diameter to account for any discrepancies in the measuring process.

My next post(s) will explain how to properly perform the ten exercises listed above.

Leave a Reply

